Metal Box

One of our other rotations that we did was a metal workshop. I made a small box with a hinge.

The first stage of the process was to cut out the metal for the box. We chose to make a 15cm box. We used a giant metal cutting guillotine. The next step was to make a 4cm cut into the 15cm metal we just cut.

One my metal was at the stage on the right hand photo above. I then needed to bend the sides to make the box.

Once the bottom of my box was made, I then had to make the lid for the box. We had to do the same as before but make the metal 10cm and the cuts on the edges which were 1cm. Then fold the sides like with the bottom half of the box. 15369884_1039311662847511_563126940_o

The next stage now was to attach a hinge to the box so that I could open and close the lid. We used the metal spot welder to do so. This is a lot stronger than the spot welders that are up in the small metal department. This is also the final outcome of the box.

Author: livtextilesblog

I am a second year BA: Textiles student at Cardiff Met University

Leave a comment