Experimenting with colour

As I had no use for the pom poms I had made in the previous week I decided to try them out in this piece to see how they would look. At first I was trying to place them in certain areas but I didn’t like how they looked you could tell they were played. The one thing I enjoy about this piece is how free it is when I drop the fabrics onto the floor and placing the pom poms didn’t give that affect it was too staged for me.

In the end I started chucking them up in the air and just seeing where they landed and this gave me a much better feeling than just placing them on the fabrics. I didn’t like this one as much as the strips of cardboard. I think this is to do with the contrast between the soft fabrics and the hardness of the cardboard thats what works really well together. Adding a soft texture onto a soft texture just doesn’t give that contrast. I did like the contrast of the bold pom poms against the other fabrics.

 

Thinking about the hardness of objects and circles like the pom poms, I thought about what I had access to around me. I then went around my apartment collecting different coloured lids and all different colours. From my milk carton to all the bubble baths and stuff in my bathroom. As I had a fair handful of these I did place them in certain areas rather than chucking them in the air, also because I needed them to be a certain way up, I decided to place orange tops on the blue fabrics as they are complimentary colours I did this with any other bottle tops and their complimentary colours.

I did really like this idea alot more than the pom poms. The contrast was back there with the hard and soft. The only down side I saw was that the piece is so big and the bottle tops are so smaller taking a whole photo you have to really look for some of the bottle tops.

Here area couple of images of the bottle tops with their complimentary colours. Just to give a better view.

 

 

Author: livtextilesblog

I am a second year BA: Textiles student at Cardiff Met University

Leave a comment