Welcome

 

New Postcard

Creative Statement

I have a natural ability when it comes to using a sewing machine and feel very confident when using one. I have great control when creating textiles achieving great detail in these designs. I love to use my sketchbook to gather items and drawing that will help inspire my work further. I then use these to draw onto fabrics and then use a sewing machine to draw these designs with stitching. I have recently enjoyed creating three dimensional objects out of fabric. My recent collection was inspired by a trip to St Fagan’s. This led me to the collection of making an afternoon tea set including tea cups, cake stands, sandwiches, Welsh cakes and a table cloth. I very much enjoyed this and is something I hope to continue in the future. I made all my own patterns to create the tea cups that I have made. I have had a wonderful transformation each time I made one of the teacups. I have recently in the past year been introduced to natural dyeing which has become a big influence in my work. I have always enjoyed experimenting with fabrics and techniques and I feel that this technique you are always experimenting with new dyestuff to create beautiful dye for fabrics. The environment has become a huge importance in my work and I consider everything I do. I try my hardest to find fabrics rather than printing or buying my own to help the environment. The textiles industry has huge implements on the earth and I love my practice and want to create a sustainably way for me to continue my practice as well as helping the environment.

Author: livtextilesblog

I am a second year BA: Textiles student at Cardiff Met University

Leave a comment