Paris Samples

I have recenly been to Paris and fell in love with the beautiful city the architecture is just outstanding. There was lots to see. That inspired me to look and start sketching some designs of the Eiffel Tower mainly and one of Notre Dame but then also the streets of paris there was just so many buildings around that were just breathtaking.

The Notre Dame sample I really enjoyed as I had two layers of fabric the one underneath was a bird pattern fabric and the one of the top was a beige fabrics. I drew my design onto the beige fabric and began sewing the design. This was a lengthy process and found myself having to come back and go and have breaks as the detail of Notre Dame took some time. Once I had finished sewing I then took some scissors and cut around Notre Dame to reveal the pattern fabric underneath. I feel this design worked out really well and the back fabric gives the colour the design needs but also the interact stitching.

68868124_2094389657531037_4709868073165783040_n.jpg

I did a few samples of the Eiffel tower as I wanted to try out some different techniques on this. one of the design I cut the Eiffel tower into two embroidery hoops and then used some of the recycled fabrics and used hand embroidery and stitch the eiffel tower into the fabric. The second one I also used hand embroidery but this time it was the full length of the eiffel tower wit a row of trees. I used hand embroidery for the tower and used a french knot to create the texture of the trees at the bottom. For the final sample I had the same design as the second sample but used my sewing machine to draw the design and instead of a french knot I used reverse applique and had a green fabric coming through once you cut the top fabric away.

I then focused my attention on the architecture that surrounds the Eiffel tower. i have made two building samples that are my favourite out of all the once I have done. The first I used machine embroidery to stitch the design. I used this pretty daisy material that was in my box of fabrics that I collected from the shop. The second I had two layers of fabrics just like my Notre Dame sample I drew the design on the top plain fabric and had a striped pattern fabric underneath. I used my sewing machine to do free embroidery and drew the design onto fabric. This design had trees either side of the building, I then used french knots to create the texture of the trees. Once I had finished creating the french knots I then cut away the top fabric to reveal the bottom.

Author: livtextilesblog

I am a second year BA: Textiles student at Cardiff Met University

Leave a comment