Paper mache tree

I have create a small maquette of a tree using paper mache. I started by scrunching up old newspapers that were in my recycling. I also went to local charity shops and collected old books to use for the paper mache. I then began adding layers and layers of the book pages, by ripping them up and adding watered down PVA glue. Once I had the main body of the tree, I then began scrunching smaller pieces of newspaper to create the branches of the tree. I then ripped up more of the books and began attaching them each of the branches to the main body of the tree. I then attached the tree to a book using PVA  and the pieces of the books to bind the tree and book together. Once I had left the tree to dry, I then focused on creating some leafs onto the tree by painting some book pages green and orange and then attaching these to the tree.

Author: livtextilesblog

I am a second year BA: Textiles student at Cardiff Met University

Leave a comment