Speed Dating Recap: Pintuck Foot

Pintuck Foot

Used with twin needle to straight or curved pintucks. Can be also be used with cord guide to cord the under side of the pintuck giving a firmer finish. There are 2 size feet (narrow and wide) which must be used with the corresponding cord guide, twin needle and thickness of cord.

Machine setting

Tension: 8
Stitch: Straight
Length: 2.5
Width: 0

The first stage is to place the cord through the cord guide, and guide this through to the back of the machine. I then placed the fabric over the top of the cord. Put the needle down and start sewing.

Above is a couple of photos of me actually doing the technique. The one of the right shows me adding a second piece of cord next to the first. I made sure that I lined the needle up exactly over the top of stitching from the first.
I not only tried stitching the cords close together I did curves and also overlaid the cords as well just to try different ideas.

Author: livtextilesblog

I am a second year BA: Textiles student at Cardiff Met University

Leave a comment