Construction Inside

I wanted to try and set up my installation inside by adding the hinges to the board inside so that when I move the boards outside the nail holes will already be here and it will make it easier to assemble the boards. I purchased a number of hinges to go into the boards on each side.

After looking at the board and measuring the hinge against it I have made the decision to use 5 hinges going down the side of the two panels. I made sure then that I had ten hinges for this. I made sure that when attaching each of the hinges that they were evenly spaced apart I did this for both lots of hinges.

I one the hinges were on panel one and panel three, I then began to level the third panel up to the second panel. This was very hard to do so as I wanted to make sure that they were level for when I open the installation up. I then screwed the other side of the hinge into the second board. This took a bit of time and was stressful at times also but the third and second board are now fixed together.

I then started looking at attaching the first and second board together. I then began to level the first panel up to the second panel.  I wanted to make sure that they were level for when I open the installation up. I then screwed the other side of the hinge into the second board. This took a bit of time and was stressful at times also but the third and second board are now fixed together.

Author: livtextilesblog

I am a second year BA: Textiles student at Cardiff Met University

Leave a comment