Third Panel

For the third panel I wanted to look at using some bullet point statistics of some of the devastating numbers that we the human race have caused,

  • 33 People have died from the bushfires.
  • 18 Million hectarces of forest and bush has burned.
  • 3,500 homes have been destroyed.
  • 1 Billion animals have died from the bushfires

My first idea was to use the same method as the other two panels and put veneer pins and add thread to it. At first I thought this would be a good idea but I found three issues with this idea. The first is that I had lost so much time when doing the first two samples that I thought it would take me too long to complete this one, I just don’t want to run out of time creating the third panel. The second reason is that  I just don’t think I will get the same affect with this board doing the yarn to fill in the lettering, I want the wording to be bold and really make you think about the devastation. The last issue is that I am slowly running out of veneer pins and I don’t think I will be able to finishes the whole board with all the lettering. 

I am very happy with the result of this. I firstly used the projector to project the bullet points onto the board, I then used a pencil to sketch the wording onto the board. I then decided to use a gouache paint and paint the wording onto the board. This took me awhile as I used a smaller brush so that I was able to be more accurate. Once I had finished and stood back and had a look at my work I was very happy with how it looks. The wording looks like a newspaper which is the exact effect I wanted to go for. 

Author: livtextilesblog

I am a second year BA: Textiles student at Cardiff Met University

Leave a comment