Sugar Pot: Attempt One

I have wanted to create a sugar pot to go only side all of my afternoon tea set for awhile but before the first hand in I wasn’t able to as I had been admitted to hospital and didn’t have much time to try and develop this piece as I would have wanted. Now that I have got some time I want to try and create and develop one.

Before when I was experimenting with different lips to my tea cups one of my attempts actually looked more like a sugar pot than a tea cup. This is when I decided to look at using the my same patterns I created for the teacups for the sugar pot.

  • Firstly, I drew and cut out the top and bottom pattern pieces that create the outside of the cup. I drew and cut out four tops and four bottoms. I added a 1cm seam allowance to the top parts of the sugar pot. I wanted to try and make this a little smaller so you are able to see the difference between the sugar pot and tea cups.
  • I then iron the fold for the seam allowance so when I attached all of the components together this will be sewn down as well.
  • Once I had done this, I got the bottom piece and then a top piece and pinned these together so I could then sew and attach the two pieces together. I repeated this for all four pieces until they were all attached like the images below.
  • Once I had attached all the top and bottom pattern pieces together I then pinned these together and began sewing them together. Once both of them had been completed and now created a circular shape of a sugar pit,  I turned the sugar pot the correct way to check that the stitching was okay and moved on.
  • This time I changed the lip of the sugar pot . I didn’t have any of the cord I had previously to make the teacups and managed to get this silver ribbon, so that the sugar pot and cups would match I used this.
  • I used then used the silver ribbon to create the bottom of the sugar pot I made a circular shape with the ribbon and stitched this together. To make it easier for me and so that my sugar pot looked professional I did add some hot glue to attached the bottom to the sugar pot, which has worked very well. It is also more hardwearing than just trying to stitch it on.
  • I then began looking at adding the lining of the sugar pot I have continued to use the plain white polyester fabric as it has proven to uphold all my previous attempts. I’m going to do five lining pieces as I have taken one pattern piece away from the outside of the sugar pot as well. Once I drew them out and cut the pieces out, I began to sew these together as well.
  • I then used the same ribbon for the rim of the pot also as before I had the cord going around the rim of the cup. I put this in place and then placed the lining inside of the pot to make sure that it fitted in nicely with the outer cup pattern pieces. Using pins I pinned the outside, inside and the ribbon together so then I can sew these all together. I used a light green machine thread to do this.
  • For the sugar pot I did not need to include a handle.

Here in the images below is the final outcome of this sugar pot. This is a good start to me developing my sugar pot as I have already made the decision to maybe look at using all the original components of my tea cup pattern pieces rather than the four like I have for this. I always am considering adding some sort of lid as well as my tea set has a lid for its sugar.

 

Author: livtextilesblog

I am a second year BA: Textiles student at Cardiff Met University

Leave a comment