Sugar Pot: Attempt Two

Now that I have attempted my first sugar pot there was stuff that I wanted to change and sort out certain aspects of the design. This time I think I’m going to look at using all the components of my tea cup patterns as I think the sugar pot on my previous attempt was too small I also want to include some or of lid that would cover the sugar.

  • Firstly, I drew and cut out all of my pattern pieces. Adding a 1cm hem allowance.
  •  I then iron the fold for the seam allowance so when I attached all of the components together this will be sewn down as well.
  • Once I had done this, I got the bottom piece and then a top piece and pinned these together so I could then sew and attach the two pieces together. I repeated this for all five pieces until they were all attached like the images below.
  • Once I had attached all the top and bottom pattern pieces together I then pinned these together and began sewing them together. Once both of them had been completed and now created a circular shape of a sugar pot,  I turned the sugar pot the correct way to check that the stitching was okay and moved on.
  • This time I used the lovely silver ribbon, shown with the images below.
  • I used then used the silver ribbon to create the bottom of the sugar pot I made a circular shape with the ribbon and stitched this together. To make it easier for me and so that my sugar pot looked professional I did add some hot glue to attached the bottom to the sugar pot, which has worked very well. It is also more hardwearing than just trying to stitch it on.
  • I then began looking at adding the lining of the sugar pot I have continued to use the plain white polyester fabric as it has proven to uphold all my previous attempts. I’m going to do six lining pieces again as this has worked best with my other cups rather than just using five. Once I drew them out and cut the pieces out, I began to sew these together as well.
  • I then placed the lining inside of the pot to make sure that it fitted in nicely with the outer pot pattern pieces. Using pins I pinned the outside and inside together so then I can sew these all together. I used a light green machine thread to do this.
  • Next was looking at the handle. This time I also included the lovely silver ribbon. I used a little hot glue to attached the top half of the handle into the seam of the teacup, this worked very well in comparison to me sewing it on like previous attempts. I then brought the ribbon down to see where I would place the bottom part of the handle and cut the excess away and then used hot glue again to attach the bottom half of the handle to the sugar pot.
  • I then wanted to create a lid for the sugar pot. I used one of my pattern pieces to draw out to circle one in the eco dyed fabric and one in the white polyester fabric. Once done I cut these out.
  • I then used some of the silver ribbon to go in-between the two circle to create a decorative rim to then lid. I used hot glue to attach this to the green part of the lid.
  • I also looked at adding a little handle to the lid by creating a French knot, as you can see from the images below.
  • Once I had completed all of these things I then adding a little wadding in-between the two lid pieces and pinned them all into place before using the sewing making to stitch them all together. I used a zig zag stitch instead of a straight stitch to be more decorative.

Here in the images below is the final outcome of this sugar pot. I am happy with how this one looks although I am still unsure how I feel about the lid to this but without the lid the sugar pot looks too similar to the tea cups.

Author: livtextilesblog

I am a second year BA: Textiles student at Cardiff Met University

Leave a comment